African Studies Gallery

blog navigation

African Studies Gallery

blog posts

  • Mor Gueye (Swahili instructor) and Ashley Adams prepare tea at 2017 Annual SILMW Showcase

  • Dr. Doris A. Derby (middle), Winner of the 2016 LAS Alumni Achievement Award, with Prof. Eyamba Bokamba and Dr. Maimouna Barro

  • 2012 Association of African Studies Programs (AASP) Panel Discussion in Washington DC

    From Right to left: Miriam Kazanjian, Consultant, Coalition for International Education; Dr. Amadou Fofana Former AASP Chair (Williamette University); Dr. Peter Qualla, Assistant Director (Boston University); Dr. Maimouna Barro, AASP Chair (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)

  • 2012 Association of African Studies Programs (AASP) Meeting in Washington DC

    From left to right: Dr. Judith Byfield, Outgoing Treasurer (Cornel University); Dr. Louise Badiane, Incoming Treasurer (Bridgewater State University); Dr. Amadou Fofana, Outgoing Chair (Williamette University); Dr. Maimouna Barro, Incoming Chair (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign); Dr. Ikem S. Okoye, Incoming Vice-Chair (University of Delaware).

  • 2012 Association of African Studies Programs (AASP) Meeting in Washington DC

    Dr. Maimouna Barro and Dr. Peter Qualla (Boston University) Presenting at a Panel: Surviving Title VI Budget Cuts.

  • Global Fest 2012

    Grad. students Mbhekiseni Madela & Rebecca Vaughn attended Global Fest 2012 in Bloomington, Il. Pictured: Mbhekiseni teaching Zulu greetings at Normal Community West High School.

    Global Fest in the Press: event article

  • Graduate Student Luncheon with Du Bois Lecturer Professor Campbell

  • Spring 2012 CAS MillerComm Du Bois Lecture Series

    Center for African Studies faculty and graduate students with Du Bois lecturer Professor Campbell

  • Dr. Barro at the 2010 Association of African Studies Programs (AASP) annual meeting

    After serving a year as Vice-Chair, Dr. Barro will assume the position of chair in 2012-2013.

    Dr. Maimouna Barro (Center) with (from left): Dr. Amadou Fofana, incoming Chair (Williamette), Dr. Ousseina Alidou, outgoing chair, (Rutgers) Dr. Judith Byfield, AASP Treasurer and vice president of the ASA (Cornell),& Dr. Peter Ojambo (Kansas).

  • South Africa Exhibit

    Graduate students Mbhekiseni Madela and Rebecca Vaughn at Bottenfield Elementary School Multicultural Celebration Night.