Asian American Studies

blog navigation

blog posts

  • Congratulations to AAS Associate Professor Maryam Kashani, 2019 Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow.

    The Department of Asian American STudies is pleased to announce that AAS Assistant Professor Maryam Kashani has been awarded the 2019 Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship from the National Academy of Education.

  • AAS Admin Aide Christine Lyke Awarded LAS Staff Award

    Please join us in congratulating our fabulous administrative aide Christine Lyke, who has been named one of six awardees for her exceptional work as a staff member in LAS.

  • Congratulations to Associate Professor Soo Ah Kwon for receiving the Conrad Humanities Professorial Scholar Award.


    Administered through the College of Letters and Arts, the goal of the Conrad Humanities Professional Scholar Award is to recognize exceptional achievement in humanists between the initial promotion to associate professor through the promotion to professor, with the aim of enhancing retention of our strongest scholarly leaders. These awards are designed to recognize tenured faculty members who are established or emerging leaders with exceptionally strong scholarly recognition and significant promise for continued achievement.

    The award is funded by a gift from Arlys Conrad, the daughter of an Illinois farmer and teacher, Mrs. Conrad was strongly encouraged in her pursuit of higher education. She always aspired to attend the University of Illinois and in 1940 she received a four-year scholarship. She earned her bachelor’s degree in education

  • AAS Professor Augusto Espiritu wins Excellence in Mentoring Award

    Congratulations to Asian American Studies Professor, Dr. Augusto Espiritu for winning this year's Association of American Studies Excellence in Mentoring Award!
  • AAS Professor Martin F. Manalansan wins Richard Yarborough Mentoring Award

    Congratulations to Asian American Studies Professor, Dr. Martin Manalansan for winning this year's Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award!
    The American Studies Association Minority Scholars Committee awards the Richard A. Yarborough Mentoring Award to honor a scholar who, like Richard Yarborough, demonstrates dedication to and excellence in mentoring underrepresented faculty, postdoctoral fellows, and/or college, university or high school students.


  • Congratulations to AAS Office Support Specialist Mary Ellerbe 2015 Recipient of the Chancellor's Distinguished Staff Award.

    The Chancellor's Distinguished Staff Award (CDSA) is designed to annually recognize Staff employees for their exceptional accomplishments and service to the University.  Thank you Mary and congratulations.