College of Education Announcements

blog navigation

All Results

blog posts

  • Announcement of Faculty Promotions

    College of Education Dean announces the promotion of nine faculty members.

  • Chinese Culture and Language Camp

    The Chinese Culture and Language Camp aims to promote early second language development through Chinese immersion in a fun, safe, and stimulating environment by providing bilingual teaching experts of the College of Education and innovative curriculum. The participants will be working in Scholar, an exciting and secure Web writing environment that empowers them to connect, create, and publish.

  • Meet the Education students on the Fall 2015 Dean’s List

    The Dean’s List honorees for the fall semester of 2015 at the University of Illinois have been announced, and the College of Education is pleased to note that 170 Education students have made the list.

  • 7th Annual COE Graduate Student Conference

    Seventh Annual

    College of Education Graduate Student Conference:

    Transformative Scholarship, Schooling & Society

    March 11, 2016
    8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

    From mundane daily interactions to national and international reform initiatives, in various ways people, communities, and institutions are constantly regulated. The effects of such regulations manifest in various social domains, one of the more pronounced being within P-20 schooling experiences. This has, among other things, led to limited educational attainment, curtailed curricula, and the potential loss of personal and/or professional identity. Yet it has also resulted in opportunities for dialogue, new learning approaches, and collective action.


    In an effort to contextualize the complexities and politics embedded in such practices, the 2016 College of Education Graduate Student Conference is calling for scholarship that investigates this phenomenon, as it’s experienced in the United States and around the world. We welcome scholarship that is both intimately and marginally connected to the theme, as we feel all conversations will enrich educational dialogues.


    All graduate students with education-related projects are welcome to submit in the following categories:


    Paper: An individual paper with 1 or 2 authors

    Submit a one-page abstract of a paper

    Panel: 2 – 3 coordinated papers organized around a single theme or topic

    Submit a one-page abstract for each paper on the panel, a description of the panel, and a panel title

    Roundtable: A paper in early formation such as, outlines and early drafts

    Submit a 50-100 word abstract.

    Alternative Presentations: A project that is more aesthetic/performative/poetic/evocative. We welcome submissions for performances, art installations, musical pieces, video showings, and similarly provocative interventions.

    Submit a one page abstract and any accompanying digital files representing your work.


    Send submissions & inquiries to: Deadline: December 31, 2015


    This year’s conference will feature the 2nd annual Hong Kong University Graduate Student Conference Exchange Program

  • 2018-2019 Outstanding Student Medal Recipients Announced

    Each year the Education Alumni Association (EAA) selects a bachelor's, master's/advanced certificate, and doctoral student to receive the Outstanding Student Medal, which is presented annually at the College of Education Convocation. EAA and the Office of Advancement in the College of Education are pleased to announce the three 2018-2019 deserving recipients of this prestigious award.

  • College of Education Fall 2015 Welcome Celebration

    Celebrate the beginning of the new academic year at the 2015 College of Education Welcome Celebration on Friday, Aug. 21!

  • 2016 AERA Annual Meeting

    This year’s AERA Meeting will take place April 8-12 in Washington, D.C., and several Education at Illinois faculty members are being recognized.

  • Arcasia James-Gallaway Receives Ford Foundation Fellowship

    Congratulations to Arcasia James-Gallaway, doctoral student in Education Policy, Organization & Leadership, for being selected as a 2019 Ford Foundation Fellow.  

  • Research Position for Postdoctoral Fellow or Advanced Doctoral Student

    Researchers from the Illinois Graduate College and the College of Education, with funding from the National Science Foundation, are studying the role of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCS) in STEM education, particularly where “flipped classroom” pedagogical approaches are being employed.  The research team is seeking applicants for a new, two-year research position. Duties will include administering and analyzing surveys and interviews, conducting classroom observations, writing reports, meeting/conference planning, and general project administration. The ideal candidate will have experience with both quantitative and qualitative research approaches, along with excellent written and verbal communication skills.  Experience with project management, grant administration/reporting, and IRB paperwork would also be beneficial. Illinois professors Dr. Bill Buttlar, Dr. Sarah Lubienski and Dr. Wen-Hao Huang will oversee this position. Interested applicants should send a resume to Professor Sarah Lubienski at 

  • EPOL's John Wesley Jones Awarded 2019 AERA-Division B Dissertation of the Year

    The American Educational Research Association (AERA) recently announced its list of 2019 Division B Award recipients, to be recognized at the annual meeting in April. The Outstanding Dissertation Award has been given to EPOL student John Wesley Jones for his disseration, The Antidote to Willfulness: Manufacturing Dissent, Kony 2012, and Propaganda as a Technology of Governance (2018).

  • Recognizing Spring 2016 Education at Illinois Dean’s List and Bronze Tablet Honorees

    Congratulations to the 140 Education at Illinois students who made the Spring 2016 Dean’s List. Congratulations also to the five Education at Illinois students who were recognized as Bronze Tablet honorees.

  • O'Leary Learning Center: Progress from Floor to Ceiling

    Construction is nearly completed on the O’Leary Learning Center, a sophisticated 4,400 square foot laboratory space in the College of Education. It is designed to advance research and teaching through enhanced collaboration of interdisciplinary research projects, provide improved online learning spaces, and enrich STEM instruction.

  • Win a trip to present your research in Hong Kong

    The Graduate Student Conference is partnering with the University of Hong Kong to present the second annual Graduate Student Conference Exchange Program.

  • Students in Special Education selected as Senior 100 Honorary recipients

    The College of Education is proud of the 2016 Senior 100 Honorary recipients!

  • Congratulations to our 2015 AERA award recipients!

    The College of Education at Illinois is honored to have three of our faculty members recognized at this year’s AERA Annual Meeting.